TUNCOM Student Government Association

Multilingual Club



The Touro Multilingual Club (formerly Medical Spanish Club) at Touro University Nevada is a student run school-wide organization that aims to diminish cultural barriers in the healthcare setting.  Our focus is on the Spanish-speaking population, since it is the largest minority group in the United States, according to the 2010 Census Bureau (1).



Purpose and Mission Statement:

The purpose the Touro Multilingual Club is: To make ourselves more culturally competent healthcare providers in a rapidly diversifying nation and abroad.

Mission Statement:  The mission of the Touro Multilingual Club is to prepare Touro University students to enhance communication with patients and to promote cultural competency. The Touro Multilingual Club shall coordinate and promote activities, programs and fund-raising events which are of support to the goals of the organization.


Membership Information

Membership in the Medical Spanish Club at Touro University Nevada shall be open to any and all students, faculty, and staff at Touro University Nevada Active membership shall be determined by sign up or by asking to be added to the Medical Spanish Club roster.  Once a student graduates or ceases to be a student at the University, his/her active membership in the Medical Spanish Club shall cease.
** There will be no membership fees for the 2014-2015 academic year **



One of the goals of our club is to make it as beneficial as we can to both our members and our local community.  We are planning to achieve this by holding medical Spanish workshops throughout the year and actively participating within our community by partnering with a local high school, healthcare centers, and health fairs.  Tentative activities include:

– Monthly talks from faculty and students

-Monthly “Spanish Tables” to help teach students medical Spanish

-Community outreach programs (including Rancho High School)

-Volunteer events at local health fairs



Upcoming fundraising events will be posted here.


If interested or have any questions, feel free to contact one of our executive cabinet members:

Diane Meisles President: Diane Meisles

Atish Dey Vice President: Atish Dey

Cassandra Law Treasurer: Cassandra Law

Michael MondheimSecretary: Michael Mondheim

 Community Service Chair: Masoud Chopan

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Sadik and Dr. Rosenberg

Class Representatives

To be determined at first general meeting.


  1. http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?pid=DEC_10_SF1_QTP3&prodType=table